Bucket List

With the end of 2012 mere hours away I figure I should take into account some of the things I’d eventually like to accomplish by the end of 2013. It’s probably going to end up more like a guideline of sorts, but I will be checking back on this list every now and then at different parts of the year.

Hopefully this won’t be as big a waste of time as the last one.

Art Studies – I’ve been looking into the possibility of studying more forms of art the past few months. So far the options I’ve seen are a) Going back to college a second try (screw that. I paid my dues in college. Not planning on going back unless it’s for reunions) b) Attending various workshops on artistic styles (did some of that back November thanks to the Gunship workshops) c) Finding some other form of post-graduate studies (which is more plausible seeing as a lot of the places I’ve seen do have weekend classes. More on this later, hopefully)

Self studying and practice does work for me, however, I feel that a little bit extra technical know-how might help out with my skill sets in this area. I’ve been looking into some options offered by a few people from groups like Dr. Sketchies and Gunship Revolution and possibly the Artists Association of the Philippines. The last is a bit harder to find online so I’d needed to do some legwork on my own for this.

Eventually I’d like my skill sets to be a mix of digital and traditional, probably specializing in charcoal and oil pastels. Still too early to tell exactly which direction this will be heading in, but more posts on this will be on this blog soon.

Also, this will likely be my ministry in church! Signed up for the media team, but since it’s still the end of December they probably won’t be tapping us for a good while yet. Fingers crossed.

Publishing – Sadly there’s embarrassingly little  progress on what I’d hesitantly term my Magnum Opus. I’ve written down much of book 1 but sadly no sketches yet except for the hastily done character drafts on one of my secondary sketchpads. I’ll need to work on doing the thumbnails for the story before I even think of writing up the script, but I think finishing the thing this year is an optimistic estimate that may very well pay off…should I actually put more work in.

Good news being I’ve already thought of the storylines for books 2-4, and possibly book 5, so at least there’s a direction I know this story’s going to go. Work isn’t really all that demanding this year, so assuming I put more work in, this is very much doable. Still working on investing for the materials like a decent digital drawing tablet but that’s going to be in the works sometime soon.

Hedgehogs- I’m honestly surprised they only made it to this part of the list. Not that there’s any order to any of this, of course. Still, with two hedgies and a third on the way, I suppose options would be to raise them as is or breed them (something I’d also thought about as an alternate source of income). The breeding part would complicate things quite a bit, as I’ll be more than busy with three of the little blighters as it is. I’ll be looking into this a bit more closely in the next few months, so more on this soon.

Fitness – Yes, I do have some measure of vanity I indulge every now and then. With multiple aborted attempts to drop some kilos, I’d recently made the decision to make myself pay through the nose just to see things through. Yes, I’d signed up for a gym membership sometime early December (sadly, a lot of holidays means gym days missed, but I’m sure I can make up for this later).

That said, I’ll need to step things up by January just to make the most of this four month membership I got myself into. Wish me luck on this one.

 

More updates as they come. Happy New Year, everyone!

 

Leave a comment